HAIKU 34

Locking my front door
on the desperate homeless
also locks my heart.

2 thoughts on “HAIKU 34

  1. I know where you’re coming from, but opening that door literally would have you out on the street yourself in time. There has to be a balance in our giving. I learned that in India after nearly bankrupting the family by giving what we earned away.

  2. my ‘balance’ though keeps me like a fantastically rich emperor, comparatively speaking (though my wealth is modest by western standards). However I have also learnt that being overly self-blaming can work against getting on with the helping that is possible. That’s another sort of balance, I guess, an internal one – how much to accept your own limitations and how much to criticise yourself.

Leave a Reply

